MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > Post-war Military Vehicles

Notices

Old 22-11-16, 13:52

Default another Aussie humber fv1601

Hi guys newbie here,i have recently purchased an ex Aust army humber fv1601a chassis no 163021 from wheatbelt country Western Australia,truck in very good order for year but has been off the road for approx 30 yrs.I have engine now up and running,and freed stiff gear change but not picking up fuel from tank i suspect fuel pump diaphragm is shot,only real rust to speak of is 6 to 8 inch long section on lhs roof and small bubbles just below spare tyre door and some minor dents ,orig deep bronze green for most part but has faded remnants of its farming area fire unit red.I am chasing spark plugs ,points etc and maybe if possible gaiters for tracta joints/axles,some pioneer tool brackets missing from RHS top of cab and other small bits and pieces so if anyone in Aus knows of any leads etc it would be appreciated.Every bit of rubber is rock hard and needs replacing but as i said for the most part is in very solid cond.I have found MLU to have the most info on these vehicles thus far,there is scant info for the most part elsewhere,i have read Paul Handels article on Humbers in Aus service . Cheers hoping for some more Aussie input in the future PS i will post some pics when i can con my son in to helping me load them up . John
Old 22-11-16, 17:20
Terry Warner

Good Luck with your project!

One lesson from the folks who are keeping old vehicles safely on the road, is to identify the commercial equivalent parts and replacements for your Humber. The easier it is to find a minor electrical component or well-hidden mechanical part, the faster your project will proceed.