MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > GENERAL WW2 TOPICS > WW2 Military History & Equipment

Notices

Old 20-08-03, 19:44
3RD ECHELON WKSP

Default WW2 battledress tunic

Was wondering if one of our resident experts can help me out. Recently I picked up a tunic on eBay. I'm not an expert onbadges/ insignias etc. but this uniform appears in very good shape and the price was right. It carries slip ons, RCA red on blue. Both shoulders have the CANADA title strip. Also are grey diamonds which I beleive to represent Atlantic command. On the left sleeve are service chevrons (3) in red. There is also a badge which I do not recognize, all I can say is that it is a circle with an arrow attached to it within a circle, I beleive it is a trade badge of some sort. This tunic also carries a lanyard of burgandy and blue. Above the left pocket is a ribbon I think is CVSM, blue, red and green. On the inside is the veterans name, number and places he was stationed, mostly onthe East coast. Can anyone give me an idea as to which regiment this came from or any kind of history? Was wondering if this guy was attached to a coastal battery, training camp or? Thanks!
Old 20-08-03, 23:03

Default Anti-aircraft unit?

As I prepare to place my size 9 squarely into my mouth, I believe that that circle-within-a-circle-with-an-arrow patch is for an anti-aircract unit. That would go with the RCA shoulder titles.

Happy hunting

Bob
Old 21-08-03, 04:10
GM Fox I

Default Your battledress

Is the circle/arrow red with the arrow pointing off at 45 degrees? If so, it is a 'Mars Badge', the sign of a trained soldier, only worn in Canada, though from the Atlantic Command flashes, this seems consistent. Bet the CVSM has no silver maple leaf in the middle.
Old 21-08-03, 04:38