MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Restoration Forum

Notices

Old 31-08-06, 03:43

Default Bodywork question

HI everyone.

What would be the best way to get this all smoothed out. Would bondo work or is there somthing better?
Attached Thumbnails
09.jpg  
C15A-Wire3, 1944
Willys MB, 1942
10cwt Canadian trailer
Old 31-08-06, 10:41

Jordan,

You could try to use the technique which is used by classics car restorers. In stead of filling oneven areas with a epoxy filler of some sort, they use Lead/Tin to flatten the surface. The Lead/Tin mix is available in bars which can be "easily" melt with a torch. You can then use it as a "normal" (but hot!) filler using tools made of wood to spread the stuff. After cooling down you can grind and send the stuff.

I still want to try the technique on my own car, so I have no experience with it yet.

regards,

Alex
Old 31-08-06, 17:23

Jordan, sometimes a previous poor patch can be nothing but a headache. I would take a die grinder and cut that piece out. Make a patch the same size and mig it in place. A little grinding and smoothing and you are in business. If you don't have access to a mig I am sure a local small body shop would weld in a patch pretty cheap.
Cheers,
Barry

Every twenty minute job is one broken bolt away from a three day ordeal.
Old 31-08-06, 17:51
"Mr. Manual", sadly no longer with us

Default Welded..??

Quote:
Originally posted by Barry Churcher
Jordan, sometimes a previous poor patch can be nothing but a headache. I would take a die grinder and cut that piece out. Make a patch the same size and mig it in place. A little grinding and smoothing and you are in business. If you don't have access to a mig I am sure a local small body shop would weld in a patch pretty cheap.
Cheers,
Barry
Hi Barry...Agree...100% Whoever welded that patch in must have used a flashlight...
I good patch ..a little butt welding(Butt...to butt up against,edge to edge)..a little grinding and it would look like new..