MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Softskin Forum

Notices

Old 22-07-11, 03:04

Default 13 Cab rebuild

Hey Guys, I am new to the CMP world and waas hoping that some of you guys could point me in the right direction.
I am rebuilding a C60 13 cab,and had to totaly rebuild the rear of the cab, my question is what are people using for the W brace, as there was nothing left to it when i removed it.
I have made all new angle iron door jams, and the peices with the curves.
Thanks Jason
Old 22-07-11, 09:08

Default Rear of cab braces

Hi Jason,
The bottom sections of my braces were rusted away. I just got some strips of panel steel and folded them to the correct shape to make up the full length.
A full length piece would be difficult but you could do shorter lengths and weld them together after folding.
Cheers, Terry
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1073.jpg  
Old 22-07-11, 18:40

Default Braces

When I rebuilt the Braces on My Cab 12 a local Building Supply had stakes that held the Styroform Forms in place/They were a perfect match.Unfotunatly these are out of production.

Another good source for Free Metal is the local Motorcycle Store. The Crates that Bikes and quads are shipped in have pre formed Metal in them.
Jeff
Old 23-07-11, 21:25

Default Strange you should mention posts

Jeff your comment about the braces looking like post for concrete forms. When I was redoing the my Pattern 12 and looking for cab braces I found some fence posts which were a near perfect match.

In the end I cannibalized the old cab back and used the original braces though everything else on the back was new. One funny point though the new angle iron for the top, bottom, and sides was stamped (see picture).