MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Carrier Forum

Notices

Old 21-02-05, 23:18

Post 3" Mortar Carrier

Hi
I'm new to the carrier forum.
Currently restoring a British riveted 3" Mortar Carrier here in New Zealand.
I 've been able to research some of it's history thanks to it's brass plate, No.T84089.
I obtained a copy of it's contract card from the Bovington Tank Museum, this told me it was one of 2000 made by the Wolseley Motor Company.
What I'm not sure of is the type of carrier, I've always believed it to be a Mk1, can any one help with this information.

Brian
Old 22-02-05, 03:52
No1, Mk 2** (I'm back!)

How about a Pic, Brian? Does it look like this? There should be a vehicle type stated on the brass data plate.
Attached Thumbnails
scan10005-700.jpg  
Old 22-02-05, 06:33

Post 3" Mortar Carrier

Tony
thanks for the reply, I take it those carriers are in NZ, by the looks.
Yes it will look just like that, at the moment it's stripped down ready for sand blasting.
The brass plate reads CARRIER 3 INCH MORTAR W.D.No T84089
What I would like to know is what Mk it is I, II or III and if possible what type of Ford V8 it would have had 30hp, 60hp or 85hp.
I'll try and get some images on soon, it's a genuine top to bottom restoration.
Old 22-02-05, 06:58
No1, Mk 2** (I'm back!)

You might need to ask Nigel Watson's opinion on the designation. Nigel has authored the Carrier Platoon site.
Old 22-02-05, 23:41
British Indian Army

Default T84089

Hi Brian
Congrats at restoring a Mortar Carrier. There is one for sale over here, maybe been sold now, the only MkI I know of in the UK.

Here are the details of yours.
It is a Universal Carrier 3" Mortar No.1 MkII. Made by Wolseley to Contract No. 2251. One of a batch of 2000 made between 13/05/41 and 16/03/42 (T82618-84617)

Hope this helps in your quest for a wee bit more history.

Regards
Nigel
Old 22-02-05, 23:55

Post 3" Mortar Carrier

Nigel
thanks for the info, appreciate it.