MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Softskin Forum

Notices

Old 26-04-19, 19:19
metal urgest

Default Chev 4 speed rebuild

Does anyone have any information on allowable tolerances on shafts and bearings in the Chev 4 speed from a C15A?
Things seem rather loose to me, but I am used to working to four decimal places.

thanks, Perry
Old 26-04-19, 19:26
carrier mech

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perry Kitson View Post
Things seem rather loose to me, but I am used to working to four decimal places.
4 decimals...on a chev??
Old 27-04-19, 01:55

Default Can you be more specific?

Hi Perry

Can you be more specific about which bearings. I've been playing with these for forty years, and they are very tolerate of play that would kill a modern transmission. But they are also vocal about the amount of accumulated play inside.

The main and secondary ball bearing are the most critical also the easiest to get and replace. The needle bearings seem to most likely to get unnervingly noisy as they will rumble, chatter and vibrate as the clearances get to large.

I've posted some photos and information I've experienced driving and working on these transmissions over the years:

https://www.canadianmilitarypattern....ansmission.htm

https://www.canadianmilitarypattern....nchevrolet.pdf Manual Section

http://www.canadianmilitarypattern.c...ansmission.htm

Unfortunately some of the sources for parts I've mentioned and used over the years are no longer in business. I got lucky the last time I had a transmission problem, broken tooth, and found a complete NOS transmission, also found the repacement gear need. Cleaned and installed the NOS transmission which still after several thousand miles shift much stiffer than the other 3 transmissions. Rebuilt the other transmission filled with gear lube and sealed it up and put it on the shelf as a spare. Hope it will guarantee I'll never have transmission problem with any of the trucks.