MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Armour Forum

Notices

Old 16-05-05, 05:34

Default Sherman Firefly Most Underrated Tank Of The War

Hello!

I have been researching WWII for almost 13 years now. Most sources always mention how good the German Tiger and Panther tanks were, how good the Soviet T34 was and so on. Very few sources mention the Sherman Firefly.

It is my opinion that the Sherman Firefly could very well be the most underrated tank of the war. It had the 17 pounder gun which was just as good as the Tiger's and Panther's gun. It had the mechanical reliability of the Sherman tank, something the German tanks did not have. The T34 did have good reliability but the Sherman was just as good.

So, I wonder why this vehicle is not mentioned too much? Is it because it was only used by Canadian, British and Polish forces? Is it because, in the same way that the Canadian Forces are largely unrecognized in some respects, that vehicles used by the Canadians could very well recieve the same lack of attention?

Looking for any comments, feedback and such!

Cheers,

Wolfkin

AKA

Jon Fitzgerald
Calgary,AB,Canada
Old 16-05-05, 09:44
No1, Mk 2** (I'm back!)

The new Zealanders in Italy often felt uneasy crewing the Firefly because the Allied Air Forces (I did'nt say the Americans ) were given a quick method of identifying Allied/German tanks. All Allied tanks:- the gun barrel does'nt protrude past the front of the tank, All German tanks:- the gun barrel overhangs the front of the tank. Therefore if it has a gun barrel overhanging the glacis, shoot it up. This is probably a handy guide if you are skimming over rooftops in a fighter plane and only have milliseconds to recognise a target, but does'nt apply to a Firefly, or indeed the profusion of German self-propelled artillery and assualt guns with short barrels.