MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Restoration Forum

Notices

Old 02-12-07, 17:21

Default Switch to 12v

Now that I have got my Ford F8 engine running, I find it so much easier to start with 12v help. I have a 12v coil so I may switch over. None of the other wiring is installed yet - I am just jury-rigged for the battery/starter/coil. If I do change over to 12v, obviously the voltage regulator has to be changed - and the bulbs of course. And the various senders? But what about the generator? I am a novice re electrics so assume that the gen will have to be changed? Is there such a thing as a 12v generator fior a Ford CMP?
Old 02-12-07, 17:42
Paul

I just know that this is going to earn me the or at least a
from the CMP addicts, but here goes

I take it that the electrical system is 6 volt??

If so, the generator will have to be changed/modified to a 12v machine. The starter would also need to be changed/modified as it will eventually burn out if it is a 6 volt.

I will and those of greater knowledge than I in matters CMP (Ford or otherwise)

Paul.
Old 02-12-07, 17:55

Hi David
There are companies that will convert your generator to 12V but it can be pricey. There are also 12V alternator kits to mount a Chev alternator in the stock generator position. The downside of the alternator is that it is visible on a Ford when you open the hood. The upside is that it is trouble free. For your purposes which I know are being able to drive your vehicle anyplace, anytime, I would opt for the alternator. You need minimal wiring also. The starter doesn't care if it's run on 12V as long as you don't crank it over forever. The horn also is the same. You will need a voltage reducer for the fuel gauge also.

On the other hand a good working 6V system with a good battery should start without difficulties.
Cheers,
Barry

Every twenty minute job is one broken bolt away from a three day ordeal.
Old 02-12-07, 18:37