MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Restoration Forum

Notices

Old 20-01-11, 09:16
Tony VAN RHODA

Default Updating 1942 mb willys jeep

Hi Fellow Restorers

I have been restoring my MB Willys Jeep for the last 6 months and am just at the stage where I have to add some modern updates to the Jeep so I can get it registered.

When I purchased the Jeep it had a set of old flashing turning indicators fitted, activated by a HELLA Universal Indicator Switch attached to the steering colum. I have fitted new LED lights to the rear and front of the Jeep, which look rather nice. However after 2 days of frustrating work the switch does not work properly and after taking it to the Auto electrician, I was told is is no good. A new replacement can be obtained for $240.00 which is I believe a bit rich and my finance minister would no doubt have a conorary.

Have any of you restorers out there fitted turning lights to their Jeep and what did you use, where did you purchase a reasonably priced colum switch. I have seen some on the internet in the USA starting at $49.00 but they will not send one to me because of warranty problems with sending to an overeas country.

Can anyone help..

Little Jo
Old 20-01-11, 09:58

Hi Tony,
I assume you are after something like this:

http://www.genr8.net.au/product.php?part_id=271933

A universal stalk indicator to fit on the column.
No price on this one, but the last similar one I brought (admittedly 4 or 5 years ago) was about $35.00. You do not have to use a column switch, any decent 3 way switch fitted in the dash will do the job, and also fill an unwanted hole in some cases. As these switches are generally not self cancelling, I suggest a good buzzer as well.
You need to shop around a little, some auto electrical wholesalers are very helpful!
If you do get desperate I will get a price from my local bloke, unfortunatley he also owns a Jeep, there is just no accounting for taste.
Rich
Old 20-01-11, 09:58
Graeme Jamieson