MLU FORUM  

Go Back   MLU FORUM > MILITARY VEHICLES > The Carrier Forum

Notices

Old 31-12-16, 00:12

Default LP2a SAR restoration

I've been collecting carrier parts and hulls for a few years with the intention of starting a restoration once the FGT was finished. Unfortunately for the FGT project, this hull turned up courtesy of an old friend and the opportunity for a very complete and original project was too tempting for me to let pass by.

I'm not sure of the actual numbers produced by SAR but I am guessing that the hull is late production with the tool rack on the back and the serial number being in the early 4'000's.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_1853.jpg   IMG_1857.jpg   IMG_1855.jpg  

"He who has the tiger by the tale, is often afraid to let go" - Confucius

Ford FGT No.9 (long suffering restoration project)
25 Pdr (Under Restoration)
No.27 Artillery Trailer (Under Restoration)
Bit and pieces of a 2 pdr AT (Looking for bits)
LP2a Carrier - 3" Mortar Trials (Restored)
Old 31-12-16, 02:36

Hi Phillip,

That's a really nice looking LP2A you have there to begin with. It should save you a lot of time try to source parts as it looks relatively complete. I'm intrigued by the cover located on the left side rear compartment. Most LP2A's only had that feature on the drivers side rear as an armoured cover for the No.19 wireless set. Similar arrangements for armour covers we added to the left side on mortar carriers.... I'd love to see more pics of your hull when you have a chance.

Regards.
Old 31-12-16, 06:30

Default 3" Mortar Carrying version

Hi Phillip,

that is indeed a BGC 3" Mortar Carrying version (the same as mine) as Matt has indicated.
Can we get some interior pics of the back right interior corner (base plate mounting), fittings on both interior sides rear compartment, any air scoop brackets and anything else that is slightly different.
Any sign of it having handrails in the rear?